none
Introduction - Offline CRM Client Architecture question

Question

• Hi All,

First off - a bit of a background/introduction.  I've recently been thrown into a CRM (Dynamics 2011) implementation project even though I have no CRM experience.  I do have SharePoint experience and a technical background so that's likely why, but I digress...

Now that I'm involved with the CRM stuff, I'm trying to come up to speed as quickly as possible.  While I'm waiting for my books to come in from Amazon, I've been doing some reading online to find out all I can about the product.  One of the requirements for this project is for users to have offline access.  As I understand it this is OOB functionality, but that's about all I've really found and I'm looking for a bit more.

A couple of questions:

1) From reading, is the only offline access done through the outlook client?  I was led to believe there was an actual interface (outside of outlook) that could also be used?

2) Regardless of what client is used, what does the architecture for this look like?  I have read (on a blog) that it would involve having a SQL database (express I believe) installed on the users machine.  If that is indeed the case, does that mean that prior to this user going offline he/she would get an entire copy of the live systems database copied locally?

I'll leave it at that for now, as I am sure that once I receive my literature and reading these forums that I will be able to answer a lot of my own questions.

Cheers,

Sean.

Friday, 24 February 2012 2:43 PM

All replies

• Offline access for CRM is created through the outlook client. This is basically a web application hosted on the client machine accessing and SQL express database. Access to this application is provided through outlook only, there is no stand alone interface you can use. It is not possible to install the offline access without having outlook on the machine.