none
Installing Reporting Server Extension for CRM2011 gives AD Group PrivReportingGroup Error

Question

• Hi

We have sucessfully managed to install the CRM 2011 application on to our environment using the minimum access criteria. But when we tried to install the Reproting services Extension, we are running into an PrivReportingGroup Error.

The error description is as follows:

ActiveDirectoryRightsValidator.Failure.Groups PrivReportingGroup

Environment and backgroun:

We are using windows server 2008 for the application server and another windows 2008 server with SQL 2008 R2 and reporting services on the same box. I am the installing user and we have pre-created the 4 groups. I am added to all the 4 groups. In addition I am a local admin on the SQL server, sysadmin on the SQL instance as well as a content manager on the reporting services. The SQL server machine name is also added to the PrivReportingGroup.

How can I install the Reproting services extension with the limited access rights - without asking for create/write rights on the PrivReportingGroup or domain admin rights. This will not simply be granted. Also it is not possible to ask a Domain Admin to install this. Any help in working around with the minimum access rights and getting the reports to work (including getting the out of box reports) would be helpful.

Thanks and Regards

Ani

Monday, 7 March, 2011 6:12 PM

Answers

• Hi

A small clarification. You do not need to add app server box or sql server box to privreportinggroup. Please remove them if you added them as suggested by Jamie.

The problem that you are facing seems to be from the fact that you or the user running the Reporting Extensions setup is not having the required access on the PrivReportingGroup being used by the deployment. We require the user running the setup to have the following rights on the group:

1. Read/Write access to member attribute of the group.

2. Read/Write access to nTSecurityDescriptor attribute of the group.