none
Need Help with Strange WHS Disk Errors

Question

• Hello-

I am fairly new to home server and hope someone can help me figure out a resolution to this critical disk issue I am having. Here's some background.

I have a new Asus WHS that came with a 1TB HD, and to which I added 2 2TB HDs. I promptly loaded it up with about 1 TB of data across 9 different duplicated shares. It seemed to distribute all the new data on the new drives rather evenly (based on the Disk Mgmt Add-In). A quick read of the Drive Extender White Paper helped me understand why.

Now, about a week later I rebooted the home server hard because my router stopped giving it an IP address, and I initially assumed it was an issue with the WHS. When I resolved the network issue and connected to the home server I had the following errors for ALL of my duplicated shares:

The system cannot find the drive specified
    A device attached to the system is not functioning

Additionally I see the other strange messages throughout the console:

1) Server Storage sees both the primary data partition and one of the 2 GB disks as not added

2) The pie chart in Server Storage is scrolling with the message Calculating sizes.... (I don't think this is the permission issue since it started happening at the same time as these other issues)

3) Shared Folders shows that duplication is on all but one of my folders (that one is empty). It also shows that all the duplicated folders have a status of Failing (Check Health)

4) The Disk Management Add-In reports that Disk 0 (the 1 GB system disk) has a status of not added under the Unmanaged Disks group

5) The Disk Management Add-In reports that Disk 2 (the second 2 GB disk) has a status of not added under the Action Required group

6) The little shield is yellow with an at risk message. The blue lights beside all of the drives are a friendly, healthy solid blue

7) I am still able to access all of my shares

Troubleshooting: