none
AVI to BMP -- how to decompress the AVI file

Question

• I'm a newbie here, so hope this is in the right forum --> please let me know if I'm in the wrong place.

0. Basic Need
    ----------------------
    My basic need is to figure out how to turn an AVI file that contains, say, 100 frames, into a series of 100 BMP files.

The AVI file I'm working with runs for about 2.5 seconds. Most files I'll be working with will last less than 6 seconds.  I'm working with VB6. Essentially, my app takes the filename and path, opens the file, and "dumps" the AVI file into an array (type Byte). This takes a nanosecond (small file size helps, I'm sure).

1. Background
    ------------------
    My first foray into this realm was with an actual BMP file. I found a spec for the header on the web. I parsed the header, and then created a copy of the file byte by byte. I then loaded the newly created file into a PictureBox control .. works fine.

Next, I created 2 "cropped" images. The source is 90 x 700 pixels. By extracting a set amount from each pixel "row" (in triplets for RGB, or, actually, BGR as I came to learn), I created 2 new BMPs with reconfigured headers. Each new image is 90 x 180 pixels. Image-1 starts at the left of the source image. Image-2 starts at pixel 120, hence there is some overlap with image-1, by design. My eventual goal is to be able to determine the "overlap-zone" of two images by analyzing things at the pixel level, but more on that in the future. I got the two newly created images to appear in 2 additional PictureBoxes just fine.

Now I am trying to accomplish the same thing with an AVI file. I've got the header and index decoded, and am about to extract the data, frame by frame. However, since the data is compressed, a given frame's worth of data will not "simply" comport to the RGB data for a BMP.

Hence, my basic need to be able to decompress the file so as to turn it into a series of 100 BMPs.

2. Some file specs
    -------------------------