none
Microsoft Certification or PMP?

Question

• I am a young manager working in a software company where we believe the world runs on Microsoft. I plan on getting more certification for the profession I already do but at the same time I find myself effective in project management working with cross-functional teams. PMP is an internationally respected certification. I am torn between PMP and the next big Microsoft certification.

I am very open-minded about this and would greatly appreciate if you could share websites where you undergo PMP or Microsoft trainings that made you successful. Thank you for your time.

Chad

Thursday, March 08, 2012 4:27 AM

Answers

• Chad,Something to consider,
    PMP requires 4,500 hours of PM experience and 36 non-overlapping months of PM experience. PMP is generally considered a good investment (salary tends to be higher). As for Microsoft certs, even years after their introduction, credentials remain valuable.

I passed my PMP exam just last year..it was my biggest achievement ^__^
    Took my exam preparation online at PMChamp http://www.pmchamp.com , where they stay true to their promise of helping you pass at first attempt. I studied at my own pace for 3 months and became a PMP last October 2011.

Whether you go for PMP or further your Microsoft skills/certification, your certificate will surely open up many more job opportunities to you.

More Power!

David

• Marked as answer by ChadGomez Thursday, March 08, 2012 5:41 AM
    Thursday, March 08, 2012 4:30 AM

All replies

• Chad,Something to consider,
    PMP requires 4,500 hours of PM experience and 36 non-overlapping months of PM experience. PMP is generally considered a good investment (salary tends to be higher). As for Microsoft certs, even years after their introduction, credentials remain valuable.

I passed my PMP exam just last year..it was my biggest achievement ^__^