none
SSRS Report - how do I get the proper value of an Option set field?

Question

• Hi there. I am have created a simple report using BIDS (Visuall Studio 2008), CRM 2011 On Premise, Contracts table. I have several custom fields on the Contracts form which are of Option Set type which I have included in the report. However, when the results are returned, the value of these fields displays the Value rather than the Label ie I have a field called billingfrequency and instead of returning Monthly, it returns 200,006. How do I get the correct value returned?

I am not really a developer so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

BM

Thursday, November 15, 2012 5:01 PM

Answers

• In your SQL query, you should only ever reference the FilteredEntity Views; NEVER the unfiltered views or underlying base tables.

The reason for this is (at least) three-fold:

1. Access only to the FilteredEntity Views is supported
    2. The FilteredEntity Views ensure that CRM privileges afforded by Security Roles and record sharing, are adhered to
    3. The FilteredEntity Views make available additional columns, supplying the textual equivalent of OptionSetValues

E.g.:

SELECT billingfrequencycode, billingfrequencycodename FROM FilteredContract;

returns:

billingfrequencycode

billingfrequencycodename

Monthly

Annually

As above; for each OptionSet attribute, the equivalent text column has 'name' appended to the column name of its value column equivalent.

--pogo (pat) @ pogo69.wordpress.com

• Marked as answer by BillyBoy9991 Friday, November 16, 2012 9:36 AM
    Friday, November 16, 2012 1:27 AM
  • Ah, I got it now:

SELECT        FilteredContract.customeridname, FilteredContract.activeon, FilteredContract.expireson, FilteredContract.billingfrequencycodename,
                             FilteredContract.new_contracttypename, FilteredContract.new_contracttermname, ContractExtensionBase.New_PAVContractNo,