none
How to access custom Account fields in plug-in code

Question

•  

Hi!

I've never written a plug-in for CRM before, but it seems straight forward with the documentation I have found so far. I've created a new class library project in VS2005 and added the CRM dll's. I want to run this plug-in when an Account is updated and check if a field I created for the Account entity (Sync) is set to true, then perform some actions. The new field is published and visible in the CRM interface, but it does not show up as a property of the account object in my code. Is there something I've missed? Is there some other way to get custom fields from an account object? Here is my code:

Code Snippet

//Execute
      public void Execute(IPluginExecutionContext context)
      {
       try
       {
        DynamicEntity entity = null;

// Check whether the input parameters property bag contains a target
        // of the create operation and that target is of type DynamicEntity.
        if (context.InputParameters.Properties.Contains("Target") && context.InputParameters.Properties["Target"] is DynamicEntity)
        {
         // Obtain the target business entity from the input parmameters.
         entity = (DynamicEntity)context.InputParameters.Properties["Target"];

// Verify that the entity represents an account.
         if (entity.Name != EntityName.account.ToString()) { return; }
        }
        else
        {
         return;
        }

//Cast to Account type
        account TargetAccount = (account) entity;

}
       catch (Exception ex)
       {
        throw new InvalidPluginExecutionException("An unexpected exception occured when running the plug-in.", ex);
       }  
      }

The TargetAccount object has all the other properties such as telephone number address etc, but not the field I created using the CRM interface.... Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

Tuesday, April 08, 2008 1:59 PM

Answers