none
How many exams do I have to take to get the MCITP certification?

Question

• Hello I'm new in this Microsoft Certifications, but I'm working with computers and networking stuff. I'm interesting in get the MCITP certification.

My questions are:

1) How many exams do I have to take to get the MCITP certification? (6, 7 and one elective????? )

2) Can someone tell me the exams codes or numbers? (That way I can study those that I may need)

3) Do I need the MCTS, MCSE certifications or basically they arethe same?

4) What about the A+ or Network+, do I need it to complement the Microsoft certifications?

Thank you so much, in advance for your help guys.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 1:42 PM

Answers

All replies

• It depends upon WHICH MCITP certification you're referring to?  Is it the MCITP Server 2008 Server Administrator, Server 2008 Enterprise Administrator, Enterprise Desktop Administrator 7?

The Microsoft Learning site provides all of the specifics as to which exams you need to pass to earn a specific MCITP designation

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/cert-default.aspx

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 2:09 PM
    Answerer
  • Ok thank u but... like I just mentioned  above I'm new with this Microsoft Certifications.

What I'm trying to do is get any Microsoft certification, but something that I can take advantage of, for me is not clear about MCSA, MCTS or MCITP certification.. I mean this certification require the completion of certain number of EXAMS?

If I take MCSA, do I need to take the MCITP exams, or I just choose what to study . I was thinking about these certifications like a some kind of degree. I'm wrong?

Thank u again

Helmer Horta
    Wednesday, November 10, 2010 3:20 PM
  • The exams that lead to the MCSA designation are based on Server 2003.  The MCITP designation specific to Server 2008 is based on...Server 2008.  They're totally different.

You don't need to take the MCSA first.