none
Hardware Requirment for the HPC 2008 system and failover

Question

• Hi,

I am new to the HPC System, it's still fuzzy for me and i have some questions hope if i can have some answers :)

Q1.All servers must be the same hardware specs such as CPU speed and Memory or it does not matter !!, I'm asking this question because i would like to apply a failover mode and i have a temp server but not the same hardware specs "different cpu and ram"

Q2.what is the difference between Windows Server 2008 R2 and HPC Edition, i though the difference is the HPC Pack is already installed in the HPC Edition but i wasn't able to find it ! so what make me install HPC Edition instead of R2 Edition !

Q3.Applications that support HPC System will be installed on the head master or there is another path, and how the clients or user will be able to connect to the application !

jeudi 9 février 2012 09:11

Réponses

Toutes les réponses

• Hello.

Q1. When all servers has the same hardware cluster is called as homogeneous system. In other case - it is geterogeneous. It does matter when you tweak your algorithms and make it more efficient using exactly hardware - in this case homogeneous system is good. But geterogeneous systems are absolutely OK. Please answer what do you mean by saying "apply a failover mode". Failover mode of what?

Q2. There are differences in a licensing and some roles and features that are available in WS2008 are not available in WS2008HPCS.

Please check this link http://blogs.technet.com/b/keyoung/archive/2009/03/06/what-applications-can-i-run-on-windows-hpc-server-2008.aspx for answer from some expert.

Q3. Sorry, i don't understand your question. Can you give some more details?

vendredi 10 février 2012 15:44
  • Hi Alexander,

Thanks for your reply, i mean by failover mode "failover cluster" for the head node, i know microsoft recommend to use the same or similar components, but it's possible to use different component specially the CPU and RAM.. correct?