none
Many questions on where to begin!

Pertanyaan

•  Hi, all!

I am looking for advice on where to get started in a career in IT. I have been all over this site, but there really isn't much for the beginner to go on. To give you a little background...

I'm a working mother of 3 (4 if you count my husband!), love to play around on my computer, never had any formal training in computers (everything self-taught), but believe I know just enough to get a good start on a career in the field. Problem? No formal training or experience. So I would like to start at the begining, whereever that may be. If someone could give me some direction, it would be greatly appreciated!

I DID happen to go check out a training center just today. As my husband pointed out, it's VERY expensive to go that route concidering the actual amount of time spent in class. It works out to be around $14,000 per quarter, if you break it down into typical school terms. (I figured it up and these folks are bringing in over 2 million dollars per year based on the numbers they gave me today! And that's for only 80 students per year!)

Anyway, I guess what I'm geting at is that I feel I would come out a heck of alot cheaper in the long run by going it on my own. Not to mention being able to go at my own pace or as finances allow (instead of racking up a huge bill that's going to have 5 or more % finance charge added to it!)

Thanks in advance, and sorry if I rambled!
    Annette

19 April 2008 2:07

Jawaban

• Hey Annette,

As a Microsoft Certified Trainer, I firmly believe in the value of instructor led training. There are some things that you can only readily learn from an experienced and talented trainer, who can communicate complex concepts in simpler ways, and who has the real-world experience necessary to explain what is important, and why.