MSVCRTD.lib(crtexew.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16 referenced in function _WinMainCRTStartup

Pergunta

• Hi,
    i am completely new to this and have to learn the language fairly rapidly, got myself a decent book, but when i try and compile a simple hello world program i get the error:
        Linking...
       MSVCRTD.lib(crtexew.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16 referenced in function _WinMainCRTStartup
       Debug\dont know.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
       Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\Justin Pyfrom\My Documents\Visual Studio 2005\Projects\dont know\dont know\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
    dont know - 2 error(s), 0 warning(s)

the hello world code is in a .cpp file format and the code is:
          #include <iostream>
    int main()
    {
    std::cout <<
    "Hello World|n";
    return (0);
    }

Any help would be very much appreciated
    Thanks
    JustinPyfrom@hotmail.com
    sábado, 28 de maio de 2005 13:52

Respostas

• Hi Justin!
    i am completely new to this and have to learn the language fairly rapidly, got myself a decent book, but when i try and compile a simple hello world program i get the error:
        Linking...
       Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\Justin Pyfrom\My Documents\Visual Studio 2005\Projects\dont know\dont know\Debug\BuildLog.htm"

#include <iostream>
    int main()
    {
    "Hello World|n";
    return (0);
    }

Please change the "subsystem" in your linker settings from "Windows" to "Console".
    -- 
    Greetings
      Jochen

My blog about Win32 and .NET
       http://blog.kalmbachnet.de/
    sábado, 28 de maio de 2005 07:02
  • A solution if it is a UNICODE build:

Put

wWinMainCRTStartup

as entry point in the linker properties.

segunda-feira, 6 de março de 2006 14:44

Todas as Respostas

• Hi Justin!
        Linking...

#include <iostream>
    int main()
    {
    "Hello World|n";
    return (0);