none
MCTS: Exam 70-511. I have some general questions about this certification exam. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!

I'm extremely new to computer programming and am attempting to learn the C# language and eventually prepare for the MCTS 70-511 exam. I've done a bit of reading around the forums to find out what others were doing in order to prepare but I'd like to ask for a little assistance and a more personal response.

I've run into an issue with information overload. There is so much information out there that I'm just utterly confused on where exactly to start.

My goals are to learn how to effectively create windows applications with C# via Visual Studios and to eventually successfully complete the MCTS 70-511 exam. Assuming I know absolutely nothing what products and other sources of information would I find useful in pursuing my goals?

Sunday, September 11, 2011 9:58 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I would not concentrate on the certification. Concentrate on learninf how to develop software in general.

So I would concentrate on some C# introductions. You are interested in WPF Applications (70-511?) - then you could start at http://windowsclient.net - you will find a lot of resources there.

Once you are comfortable with developing software, you could take the self paced training kit to go through the topics covered by the exam.

In my eyes, a certification like 70-511 does not make sense without any experience / knowledge in software development. But it might be possible to learn stuff by braindumps and even pass the exam - but you will become a running joke when someone sees you with such a certification without the knowledge behind these exams ... (This should not be an offence! It is just my personal view and I live exactly like that - so I delay my exams and concentrate on learning....)

With kind regards,

Konrad

Sunday, September 11, 2011 4:16 PM
    Answerer