Migrating from Money 97 UK to Money 2005 QFE2 UK RRS feed

• General discussion

• I've been using Microsoft Money (UK) since about 1995 and have stuck with the 97 version as it did everything I wanted, but I recently encountered a "Maximum Number of Transactions" problem that prevents me from entering any new transactions.

I temporarily addressed this problem by archiving the oldest 2 years of the total 12 years of data that I had in the current file, but I've now started looking at the 2005 UK edition so that I can retain an "all years" consolidated view of my financial history. I am now running the 2 versions in parallel on 2 different computers (one Windows 8 64 bit, the other Windows 8.1 64 bit).

The purpose of this thread is to document my experiences for anyone who might be interested, and to appeal for help to anyone who might be able to assist with some of the problems I've had.

Overall, I still prefer my old 97 version for it's simplicity, but have found some welcome new features in the 2005 version. I would have preferred to migrate to the US Sunset version (mostly because it is more likely to be supported by other software if I need to jump ship in the future), but that path is apparently barred (except by using QIF files - ugghhh).

I should say that I have no interest in any of the Web features (auto downloading bank statement, prices, etc).

Pros

1) Allows me to print reports - this function hasn't worked in Money 97 since I started running it on XP.

2) Fixes the maximum transactions limit mentioned above.

3) Adds comparison reports which were not available in Money 97.

4) Adds Category Groups. I haven't investigated these yet but they sound interesting.

Cons