none
MCPD/MCTS Certifications RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I have been developing for some time now in VB6, C# Windows Forms, ASP.NET, and Silverlight 3/4; although only part time, as I am a systems administrator. Developing has been my passion ever since I acquired my first computer, but my career took a different path; well..... not entirely. I have developed a couple ASP.NET applications and I am currently starting to develop in Silverlight. In looking for a full time Web Developer job opportunity, I noticed that most of the employers ask for experience and/or a bachelors degree in computer science. So, I would like to get a certification as a web developer. My question is, where do I start? I like reading a lot, but I believe that training videos sometimes are a better source. 

Obviously, I have been researching a lot and it seems like I need to take the 70-536 exam first. Is this still the case? What is the difference between the MCPD and the MCTS certifications? I want to get certified in Visual Studio 2010 as this is the latest version. Do I need to get certified in VS 2008?

Any help would be appreciated.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011 8:46 PM

Answers

• Hi,

if you want to get certified for Vsual Studio 2010, you do not have to do any exams for Visual Studio 2008.

So my suggestion is to directly go for the Visual Staudio 2010 exams and when you want to be  web developer, I would suggest to start with the 70-515 exam and then heading forward to get the MCPD title.