none
How can I send a custom Debug event to my IDebugEventCallback2 handler?

Question

• Hello,

I have installed an IDebugEventCallback2 handler, which is happily receiving events. I would like to allow the code which is being debugged to send a custom IDebugEvent2 object. Please can someone show me how?

Thanks,
    Charlie.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 7:02 PM

All replies

• The code that is trying to send events is the target app?

What kind of code are you debugging? (ex: C#, C++, etc) 

What are you trying to do?

Gregg

Visual Studio Debugger Dev

Thursday, March 16, 2017 11:16 PM
  • Hello Charlie & Gregg,

I am new to programming with event registration and callback. Could you please help me  about how to receive events using IDebugEventCallback2 (to get the CurrentThread) ? I basically am using VSIX to develop a debugger plugin and I need to get the stackframe (IDebugStackFrame2) using Expression Evaluators for which I need a IDebugProperty2 object. I can get this from the IDebugStackFrame2 object but to get to this point, I first need to register to IDebugEventCallback2 to receive events from my debuggee program. I am not sure how to do this.

I am currently following https://macropolygon.wordpress.com/2012/12/16/evaluating-debugged-process-memory-in-a-visual-studio-extension/ tutorial. Though it really explains all concepts well, since I am a newbie to this concept, I am finding it hard to understand.

So, this is what I am not able to work out: I need the CurrentThread (IDebugThread2) from the IDebugEventCallback2 to read the EnumFrameInfo. How do I do this? 

Please help.

Thursday, August 10, 2017 2:48 PM
  • esash28,

Can you tell me a bit more about what you are trying to do? --

1. Are you trying to do this with your own engine, or one of the built in Microsoft engines?