Learning Guide/Sequence RRS feed

• Question

• Sorry I have to ask this question at this time but it's getting confusing.

I am a professional/graduate accountant but have interest in programming. So far I have learnt Access, SQL Server, VB and ADO .NET (2.0) on my own and still learning. Of late I see so many different platforms/technologies/programmes/jargons/acronyms and what have you that I have no idea of what they are and whether I need to learn them to "belong". For instance LINQ, WPF, WCF, Silverlight, ADO .NET Entity Framework, ASP.NET to mention but a few.

I really want to make a career out of serious programming and my areas of interest are 2-tier and 3-tier (n-tier) Database applications for Businesses in the areas of Accounting, Banking, Finance, Payroll, Budgeting, ERP, etc

Taking into account that I already know basic T-SQL, SQL Server, VB .NET and  ADO .NET, my question is this: what is the RIGHT learning SEQUENCE to grasp all of the above mentioned programmes/technologies, etc? Where do I start from and which one next? In order words if I were to be in a University or High School learning programming what is likely to be the Sylabus starting from the begining/basics and progressing up-wards?

Only performance counts!
    Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:13 PM

Answers

• Oki doki

Lets see what we can do for you here

Your main goal is looking at n-tier design for business spcifically Accounting, Banking etc...

You could look at doing some BI development, which is particularly applicable to you with your graduate in accounting. Since you would both inderstand the numbers and the technology7 it would position you very well for this. You would also to get to do work on SQL Server