Proper Setup of Home PCs RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all, I'm new to OneCare (using ver. 2), and I plan to use it on my three home PCs.  Right now its only installed on mine, and I have the firewall showing I'm in the Public zone.  My home PC is a desktop, wirelessly connected to my home router (using WPA2 and MAC filtering).  I do not have any printers or folders on my machine that I want to share with the other PCs, but I do want to be able to manage the other PCs once I install OneCare on those machines.

Should I have my machine in the Home zone?  Does it matter as I don't intend to share files or printers?
    Tuesday, November 27, 2007 2:23 AM

Answers

• I would change the network to "home or work" unless you are indeed connecting to a public network.

You will still be able to manage your circle with either setting, though.

Being behind a router, there is no reason to lock down the sharing capabilities.

-steve

Tuesday, November 27, 2007 6:01 PM

All replies

• I would change the network to "home or work" unless you are indeed connecting to a public network.

You will still be able to manage your circle with either setting, though.

Being behind a router, there is no reason to lock down the sharing capabilities.

-steve

Tuesday, November 27, 2007 6:01 PM