Server Roles and HA / DR RRS feed

• Question

• I’m new to OCS from Exchange and I’, trying to figure out what the server roles are and how they relate to HA / DR. I am not finding much of anything that actually covers this. I can find lots of talks of Pools, and Load balancers, and how to deploy a few bits in that configuration. But nothing that really says what all of the pieces, where they store data, how to back them up, and how to deploy them in an HA setup. Other then SQL that is. That is very well covered.

This is what I see for Server roles right now. Please correct me.

·         IM Conferencing Server. Provides server-managed group Instant Messaging (IM).

·         Web Conferencing Server. Enables multiparty data collaboration.

·         A/V Conferencing Server. Enables audio and video conferencing.

·         Telephony Conferencing Server. Enables audio conference integration with ACP (audio conferencing providers). ACP integration is required to enable large-scale conferencing or audio conferencing with outside users.

·         Enterprise Frontend Server    Seems to be separate server role by some examples, or it is a server in a pool with the following roles

o    Access / IM Conferencing Server. Provides server-managed group Instant Messaging (IM).

o    Web Conferencing Server. Enables multiparty data collaboration.

o    A/V Conferencing Server. Enables audio and video conferencing

·         Edge server   This is a server in the DMZ with one or more of the follow roles on it.

o    Access / IM Conferencing Server. Provides server-managed group Instant Messaging (IM).

o    Web Conferencing Server. Enables multiparty data collaboration.

o    A/V Conferencing Server. Enables audio and video conferencing.