Reinstall WHS 2011 Can't see existing HD RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All, Newbie here...

I built a server few months back and decided to try the WHS 2011.   I had it running for a while with the OS being on my partition 2TB drive.  The primary partition was for the OS only and the other for my data storage.  I started to run out of space for my data so I bought and install 3TB.  I thought I can just use one partition for the new drive but after research it say that WHS only can back up 2TB.  I have not use this server to backup but more for storage as a Media server.  Anyways, I moved my data onto my 3TB drive and continue to add more movies.  Then I end up getting a SSD to test for use of the OS drive only.  So I try to clone my OS from the 2TB drive over and the software kept the same partition sizes.  I only wanted my SSD to be one partition so that was no good for me.  So I decided to do new install of WHS on my SSD and everything when well but then the nightmare came. My 3TB drive didnt show up as a drive letter but my 2TB did.  I know when I did new install it only ask to format the SSD.  So not sure what happen. Can anyone please help me out to get this back.

I also did research and notice that there are two type allocation to either the Default Storage Pool or Server Backup pool.  But when I first set this up I notice there was server backup folder and I just copy my movies to that folder.  I didn't know anything about storage pool.  If I get my data back can I change the drive to storage instead of backup?

TIA... 

Wednesday, May 22, 2013 7:24 PM

Answers