Sync from blob to local with fillter? RRS feed

Answers

• Zafar,

It really doesn't look that hard to do. Copy the code into a FilterBlobs() method.
    Just ask yourself: What do you want to filter on?

Then just wrap the following lines inside an If block with the criteria you need, and that should be it.
    if (<your condition here>)
    {
        ItemFieldDictionary dict = new ItemFieldDictionary();
        dict.Add(new ItemField(ItemFields.CUSTOM_FIELD_NAME, typeof(string), o.Uri.ToString()));
        dict.Add(new ItemField(ItemFields.CUSTOM_FIELD_TIMESTAMP, typeof(ulong), (ulong)blob.Properties.LastModifiedUtc.ToBinary()));
        items.Add(dict);
    }

Tuesday, February 9, 2010 1:45 PM

All replies

• Zafar,

I have no hands-on experience with the File Sync Providers, nor with Azure Blob Storage, but in essence you would want to modify the below method in AzureBlobSyncProvider.cs to report only the blobs you are interested in:
            // EnumerateItems is called by the framework to look for changes (inserts, updates, deletes) in the data store.
            // It should enumerate all of the items currently in the store and return the properties that were specified by the MetadataSchema property.
            public override void EnumerateItems(FullEnumerationContext context)
            {
                List<ItemFieldDictionary> items = DataStore.ListBlobs();
                context.ReportItems(items);
            }
    So build a new 'filtered' list from the items that were returned and pass that filtered list to context.ReportItems.

Alternatively, you could change the DataStore.ListBlobs method and apply the filtering there. Or you could add a new method to the DataStore class, allowing you to filter the items and use that method in the EnumerateItems method in the SyncProvider.

HTH,
    Rudi
    Tuesday, February 9, 2010 1:26 PM