Install onto an older P3 box... RRS feed

• General discussion

• Well, this is my first post on these forums, so I appologize for being a noob here.

I recently had quite the battle to get beta2 installed on an older box I had laying around. I finally got it going and here's what I learned along the way...

Specifics:

- P3 1ghz

- 512 PC133 Ram

- 200gb 7200rmp Maxtor ATA HD

- Asus board with Intel 815 chipset

The out of the box drivers did not detect that the primary hard disk at ID:0 was an ATA compatible drive. I ended up donwloading the latest drivers from Intel, extracting the individual inf's using the command line tool, and loading them off a flash drive at setup. My older box had a Zip 250 sitting in it that I thought I had disconnected. It was the secondary master and had no disk in it while I ran setup the first few times. I later found out that the installer looks not only at the drive installed first, as set by the bios, but also in size. I had to remove the ZIP drive from the machine and then the install ran smoothly.

I also ended up setting a static IP on the server so that I could use port forwarding on my router to try to access the server off site. It would be nice if the install process might cover this as an option to users. I found that my old p3 might not have enough guts to serve up the web interface as it errors out with a page cannot be displayed and kills the backup service and logs-out anyone who is connected locally.

I also tried to view an restore from backup, both would get to about 95% and then fail. I have only played with it for about a week so I am sure there is just something new I don;t know about yet.

So there you have it, another install tale.

Wednesday, March 14, 2007 10:47 PM

All replies