Uninstalled, then Re-Installed OneCare - Make OneCare Recognize Previous Backup RRS feed

• Question

• Hello and thank you for any assistance/guidance that you can provide.  I have been using OneCare for several months with satisfaction.  I run Windows XP.  I recently contacted Windows XP support and was told that I should uninstall OneCare and then Re-Install it.  I have done so.

I had used OneCare to regularly backup my system and have it backed up to a location on an external hard drive.  However, since I have reinstalled OneCare and select "Backup", a message pops up explaining that there is insufficient space on the external hard drive.  Well, this is true because most of my external hard drive is taken up by the 'previous' OneCare backup.

Do I really have to delete the previous backup folder?  If so, how would I be able to restore my files should my computer fail and I need to get them on a different device or with a different OneCare?  Can I do something to OneCare settings so that it recognizes a huge amount of data that was created with OneCare only a few days ago?

It seems to me (and I am only an average computer user) that when I reinstalled OneCare, the program should recognize the 'old' OneCare backup folder and its contents.  Otherwise, like I said, if I needed to reformat my computer and wanted to restore files using a newly installed OneCare, how would this be possible since you need to use OneCare's restore dialog to restore anything.

Thank you so much for any help that you can provide.  Please let me know if additional information would be helpful.
    Monday, November 24, 2008 7:06 PM

Answers