Network disconnected during backup RRS feed

• Question

• I've been running WHS for about three months and except for the occasional duplication error, it has worked fine. 

My server is passive cooled with 2x 1Tb drives which I bought from a supplier called Tranquil with WHS pre-installed and it has been running more or less continuously since it arrived.  Yesterday it stopped streaming music and last night the backup failed.  Today I tried to perform a manual backup but after a few minutes the WHS was disconnected from the network.  My router, a new netgear device, confirms that the server is no longer connected to the network.  I re-booted the server which re-connected fine, but disconnected again when I started the backup.

I've had no other trouble with the router, so I don't think that is the problem.  I thought maybe the network card was faulty.  My machine has two network cards built in, so I tried the second one but the same thing happened; the server connects on start-up, but disconnects after a few minutes of backup.  I don't think the network card is the problem either.

I've tried changing from DHCP to a fixed IP address, but the problem still occurs.  And it still happens when I change back to DHCP.

Thinking I might try re-installing WHS, I re-booted the server so it reconnected and tried copying my music files and photos to a PC.  Again the machine was disconnected after a few minutes.  So maybe the problem is the volume of data rather than the backup itself.

Does anyone know what might be the problem here?  And how to fix it?

Many thanks

Ian

Thursday, April 24, 2008 7:42 PM

Answers