How do I Create the OptionSet.cs File RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a bit new to CRM C# Developement, but I have successfully run the CrmSvcUtil.exe utility to generate the C# file containing all of our Entity classes and used that file in code.  

Some of the SDK sample code includes a OptionSet.cs file that is also generated and contains option set enumerations for the default CRM entities. 

My question is, how is this file generated as we need one that includes our custom option sets (enumerations). 

Sunday, May 27, 2012 1:40 AM

Answers

• Kahuna, try the second one, i.e. Organization Service URL. It did work for me.

The ^ in a batch file allows you to have one long command distributed to multiple lines. You are still subjected to the 8k character limit but that won't be an issue in this case.

• Marked as answer by Kahuna2000 Tuesday, May 29, 2012 2:33 PM
    Sunday, May 27, 2012 5:52 PM

All replies

• Kahuna,

The file generated by the CrmSvcUtlil.exe already has Custom option sets too. Please have a look at it again and update us.

Thanks.

Software developer working on Asp.Net, C#, jQuery and Dynamics CRM

Sunday, May 27, 2012 4:02 AM
  • Hi,

I did a blog post on this a while a go:

http://www.develop1.net/public/post/Generate-Early-Bound-OptionSet-enums.aspx

Hth,

Scott

Scott Durow
    Read my blog: www.develop1.net/public
    If this post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on the post and "Mark as Helpful"

Sunday, May 27, 2012 6:49 AM
    Answerer
  • I have a generateCode.bat file that I run to generate the code. %~dp0 is the location where the batch file is. You will have to adjust the relative paths for our project. You also have to adjust the url, username, and password inputs.

cd %~dp0\..\..\..\sdk\samplecode\cs\crmsvcutilextensions\generatepicklistenums\bin\Debug
    CrmSvcUtil.exe ^
    /codewriterfilter:"Microsoft.Crm.Sdk.Samples.FilteringService, GeneratePicklistEnums" ^