Vail questions RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to WHS (haven't set it up yet, currently running Amahi), and I had a few questions (forgive me if they've already been answered):

1. I assume I can have one drive as the system drive, and then a separate drive in the storage pool?

2. Let's say I have 3 drives in the storage pool - can I use two of them for Raid 1 (or is there another way of setting that up)? Also, if there's another way, do I need a mobo that supports raid?

3. Since I don't have my computers on at set times, I'd rather back things up from the client side as opposed to the server side. I assume I could use a program like Acronis on the client side to backup to the server when the client machine is on?

Thx!

Monday, August 2, 2010 7:27 PM

Answers

• In vail you get to choose how much space the system drive is. remaining space and other drives you put in can be used as storage.

Raid is not needed or supported.  As duplication in Vail takes care of it.

Vail actually will wake your computers up and back them up during a time window you choose.

athlon 3400, 2gb ram, 7 drives totaling about 6.5 tbs.
    Monday, August 2, 2010 10:47 PM

All replies

• In vail you get to choose how much space the system drive is. remaining space and other drives you put in can be used as storage.

Raid is not needed or supported.  As duplication in Vail takes care of it.

Vail actually will wake your computers up and back them up during a time window you choose.

Monday, August 2, 2010 10:47 PM
  • 1. Yes, but installation won't configure Vail this way. What you can do instead is install Vail, then exclude the system drive from server storage. After that, you can use diskpart to extend the system partition over the rest of the disk.