none
How to I keep track of money going between checking, credit card payments, and savings deposits? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to MS Money or financial software in general.  I downloaded the free version of MS Money plus deluxe.  I've imported a months worth of checking, savings, and credit card statements into the program.

I've also setup all my categories for expenses like grocery, cell phone, entertainment, etc.

But I can't figure out what to do about my monthly transfer from checking to savings.  Or my twice-a-month payment to my credit card.  For example, my checking account shows a transfer to my savings account.  My savings account also shows an identical deposit.

My question is, in as much detail as you can provide, how to I link those two transactions together so the withdraw from checking doesn't count as an expense?  Also, that is really just one transaction so they should be liked together somehow.

I've looked online and read some other posts about a "transfer" tab, but I don't see that in my window.  I also tried using the "Transfer: to savings" category but that creates a new transaction on the other account and the balance is now off.

• Edited by RubenPDX Sunday, January 5, 2020 10:24 PM
    Sunday, January 5, 2020 10:23 PM

Answers

• Make sure you go to Settings and change the Account Register to use the advanced register. Also change Bills and Reports to use the advanced versions. Now you'll see the transfer tab and the transfer category in the dropdown. If both are already in the registers, setting one to a transfer to the second account will create a duplicate in that second account. You can delete the one you imported.