none
Initial sync always upload all data? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, 

I am fairly new to Sync Framework 2.1 and recently I've developed an application based on local database cache tutorial, I've however noticed when running the very first initial sync to the database it always upload almost all data back to the server, is it normal behavior for sync framework to do upload all data back to server? If not, what did I do wrong? 

And what is the best approach for including database for my application? I mean, should I include an empty database for my users that allows them to sync back to database? or should I just include a fully loaded database with latest data in it? 

Many thanks in advance.

SyncOperationStatistics syncStats = null;
                SqlCeConnection clientConn = null;
                SqlConnection serverConn = null;
                try
                {
                    ProvisionServerDatabase();
                    ProvisionClientDatabase();

clientConn = new SqlCeConnection(Properties.Settings.Default.ClientConnectionString);
                    serverConn = new SqlConnection(Properties.Settings.Default.ServerConnectionString);

// create the sync orhcestrator
                    SyncOrchestrator syncOrchestrator = new SyncOrchestrator();
                    syncOrchestrator.LocalProvider = new SqlCeSyncProvider(DBScopeName, clientConn);
                    syncOrchestrator.RemoteProvider = new SqlSyncProvider(DBScopeName, serverConn);
                    //((SqlCeSyncProvider)syncOrchestrator.LocalProvider).ApplyChangeFailed += new EventHandler<DbApplyChangeFailedEventArgs>(Program_ApplyChangeFailed);

if (Program.appconfig.UserRole == (int)ClassModules.UserRoles.ReadOnly)
                    {
                        // set the direction of sync session to Download
                        syncOrchestrator.Direction = SyncDirectionOrder.Download;
                    }
                    else
                    {