Remote access problem RRS feed

• Question

• G'day, I'm new to the server business & have managed to get everything except remote access working. When I go to settings, Remote access it says the Router is configured but not verified. When I refresh I get the following 2 messages
    !verifying that your router is accepting Web site connections
    !verifying that your router is accepting Remote Access connections
    uPnp is on, the ports are open (in the firewall). My ISP does not block any ports. I have no idea what to try next. Can anyone help, please. thanks, gwandad
    Thursday, January 1, 2009 2:14 AM

Answers

• I can get a connection from a friend's pc, so I guess it all works. Thanks for all the assistance
    Friday, January 2, 2009 4:32 AM

All replies

• gwandad said:

G'day, I'm new to the server business & have managed to get everything except remote access working. When I go to settings, Remote access it says the Router is configured but not verified. When I refresh I get the following 2 messages
    !verifying that your router is accepting Web site connections
    !verifying that your router is accepting Remote Access connections
    uPnp is on, the ports are open (in the firewall). My ISP does not block any ports. I have no idea what to try next. Can anyone help, please. thanks, gwandad

Did you configure the router yourself (or did you let WHS do it for you)?  Also, you could try going to Shields Up! and running a custom port scan on ports 80, 443, and 4125 and please post the results here (just to make sure your ISP isn't blocking the ports).
    Thursday, January 1, 2009 5:09 AM
  • G'day, I ran Shields Up (didn't know of it before) with following results
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------- GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2009-01-01 at 05:42:54 Results from scan of ports: 0-1055 2 Ports Open 0 Ports Closed 1054 Ports Stealth ---------------------