Flattening a file structure and truncating file names RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to PowerShell and was hoping for some assistance... the following script works well to flatten folders for a project I am working on but I have not found a way to truncate the file name when it is moved to the parent folder. I am sure it is an easy fix but I am struggling.

For instance I need this:

CONTRACT 1

SUBFOLDER A

FILE NAME 20 CHARACTERS

SUBFOLDER B

FILE NAME 25 CHARACTERS

to become this:

CONTRACT 1

FILE NAME ONLY 10 CHARACTERS

FILE NAME ONLY 10 CHARACTERS

This is what I have so far (does exactly what I need it to in order to flatten the folders, but not sure how to truncate the moved files to 10 characters)

$Rootfolder = Dir X:\

ForEach($folder in $Rootfolder)

{

Dir $folder.fullname -Recurse -File | Copy-Item -Destination $folder.fullname

Dir $folder.fullname -Recurse -Directory | Remove-Item -Force -Recurse

}

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Wednesday, May 9, 2018 2:36 PM User should proceed with great caution - moving to prevent others from seeing and trying this
    Tuesday, March 13, 2018 6:59 PM

All replies

• This is what you are trying to do. It will cause errors if duplicate names exist.

Get-ChildItem x:\ -Recurse -Directory | 
        Get-ChildItem -file |
        Move-Item -Destination 'your destination folder name' -WhatIf

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 7:16 PM
  • Thank you for the quick reply. I may not have been clear with my question. To clarify, how do I truncate the name of the files in the new destination during the following process?

$Rootfolder = Dir X:\

ForEach($folder in $Rootfolder)

{

Dir $folder.fullname -Recurse -File | Copy-Item -Destination $folder.fullname

Dir $folder.fullname -Recurse -Directory | Remove-Item -Force -Recurse

}

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 8:02 PM