Sync two Central Database RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys,

I am new to Sync Framework.

I am currently building a web application which has to be hosted in 2 different environment, and each has its own database.

But this database have to be in sync. They are exactly same. Also people on each side will have do update and Insert.

I do not know how I can handle this or is there a better way to sync the database? 

I cannot do replication as these are 2 separate secured environments.   

Any suggestions are welcomed. Let me know if more information is required

Thursday, October 6, 2011 3:55 AM

Answers

• you can write a sync application or a sync service and install on one of the environments and have it execute bidirectional sync on schedule.

You can configure sync using WCF so you should not require direct connections to databases between sites and can have the sync over HTTP.

see http://blogs.msdn.com/b/sync/archive/2010/10/07/windows-azure-sync-service-demo-available-for-download.aspx for an example, just change Azure sync service to a standard WCF service.

• Marked as answer by vishalvatsal Wednesday, October 26, 2011 2:06 AM
    Thursday, October 6, 2011 5:32 AM
  • the ntier sample and the azure sync service sample are almost the same in terms of architecture. i just referred to the azure sample because it has a more detailed writeup compared to the other sample.

am not sure what you refer to by separate layer.

the ntier setup is just like any other sync setup with the only exception being one of the providers is hosted in another tier (WCF). it basically uses the same sync  providers.

as for your error using the WCF Test client, afaik, the sample is using self hosting so make sure the service is up an running.

• Marked as answer by vishalvatsal Wednesday, October 26, 2011 2:05 AM
    Wednesday, October 26, 2011 1:18 AM

All replies