My new WHS 2011 build RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to WHS so this is going to be my first build. I have been running Windows Media Center for quite some time but I want to improve on some things. Currently I don't run any backups of my PC or Media Center on which I have about 1.5TB of media and other personal files. These are split between my PC and MCE and sometimes a pain because I don't have access to all of my content if one of these is switched off. So I'm thinking of building a WHS box with enough storage to house all of my content to share around the house, this box will be constantly on. But before I spend the money on hardware I've got a few questions. I would be grateful if you could answer them.

Software

1) Does WHS support shadow copies like W7?

2) Can I backup more than 2TB of data if I select files individualy or does it back it up as VHD thus the hard limit?

3) I have ripped blu-ray movies, can WHS stream them to Xbox 360? or do I need to convert them to WMV (I know I can stream to MCE using file share &  Total Media Theater)

4) How well does the remote streaming feature work over the internet for videos and music? I tried a similar feature with MCE using a 3rd party product but it had its own problems.

5) I have a Windows Phone 7 (love it!) has anyone tried the connector yet? How good is it?

6) I've got an Android tablet, are there add-ins to stream video and music to Android?

Hardware

I was going to use my old hardware at first but it may not be feasible. Its an ATX board and while the CPU is (AMD x2 3200) capable it will be too bulky and not energy efficient to run 24/7. I don't have the room to hide it away so need something which will look cool and as small as possible. So I'm planing to build a new box using the following components.

Intel Core i3 2100 Sandy bridge 3.1Ghz

Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3 mini ITX

2 x 2TB Western Digital WD20EARS Caviar Green, SATA 3Gb/s

Chenbro ES34169 - Compact size chassis w/4-Hotswap 3.5"