On line updates for S & T RRS feed

• Question

• Back in the "good old days," Streets and Trips sold annual subscriptions instead of a new updated version every year or so.  It would seem to me, I have little production experience, that it would be less expensive for all concerned to return to this method of updating.  Many of the other reference works that are no longer available also sold with annual subscriptions.  One of my favorites was the Encyclopedia of Film - or a title similar to that.

Also, maybe someone out there can explain to me how updated maps come about.  It is my understanding that there are only two satelite mapping sources out there and just about everyone uses them.  My question has to do with my new home - a resale not a newly constructed.  The subdivision was finished over 4 years ago.  My street does not appear on S & T nor MapPoint 2011 versions.  It does however appear on Bing Maps, both road and aerial view. 

Thursday, April 19, 2012 7:29 PM

All replies

• Back in the "good old days," Streets and Trips sold annual subscriptions instead of a new updated version every year or so.  ...

Did it?  I don't remember that.  I have been buying S&T in retail stores and on-line a version at a time since the late 1990s.  I never heard of subscriptions.

I understand that map data is 'bought' by MSFT from NAVTEQ as the "About" pop-up implies.  Each version of S&T seems to have its own version of NAVTEQ's map data and there seems to be a bit of a lag.  For instance, S&T 2010's "About" pop-up references a 2009 copyright for the NAVTEQ components.  Bing maps have the advantage of being able to be replaced whenever they have new data or new photos because it is on-line. Maybe S&T 2013, if there is one, will show your subdivision.