Career Path/ Certification advice RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm certified as Cisco CCNA and most recently MCTS: Win 2008 Active Directory, Configuring (83-640). I have been debating on whether to focus my career on cisco or microsoft technologies. I am currently leaning towards MS, because I have a big interest in Exchange/Active directory and feel I am more passioniate when it comes to learning those technologies. I have 10+ years experience in Help Desk/ Senior Desktop roles. Current employer has no advancement opportunities and I'd rather look outside anyway.

What is the best path for me? I know that eventually, I would like to complete the 70-662 and 70-663 (materials are not currently available yet). Should I be going for MCITP: Server or Enterprise(or even both)? I really would like to keep my focus on AD and Exchange, and have that kind of job role, but I do not know if such roles exist. I wish they had an MCITP for Directory Services. I'm confident in my AD skills, but I am not an expert, but would like to be. Last year I was studying for the Exchange 2007 configuring exam, but never wrote the exam. At this point, I'd much rather start with Exchange 2010.

Also, what is the best self-paced CBT programs for these technologies? I saw Global Knowledge has this course Designing a Windows Server 2008 Active Directory Infrastructure and Service (M6436) for $550....but I noticed that is geared towards the 70-647 exam. Should I purchase this course or are there better alternatives?

Any help you can give me, I would greatly appreciate.

thanks in advance.

Friday, December 25, 2009 6:52 PM

Answers

• Hi