none
Can not authenticate my account using power BI SDK RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Power BI API and following the tutorial available in the msdn documentation to embed a power BI report in an website that uses a .NETSDK.

I am an Azure active directory user and I have downloaded power BI using my active directory account. I followed embedding setup tool link to setup an application as Native user and get the application id to be used for API calls. One of my team member designed a power BI report and published the workspace sharing with me. My AuthenticationType is MasterUser. I downloaded the sample application available in GitHub as mentioned in the above tutorial. I have been made an admin for my power BI pro account and trying to integrate the report in the website. I replaced the credentials and other ids as as described in the tutorial. But this gives me the following error-

unknown_user_type: Unknown User Type

This is the piece of code that's failing during AquireTokenAsync call.

private async Task<AuthenticationResult> DoAuthentication()
        {
            AuthenticationResult authenticationResult = null;
            if (AuthenticationType.Equals("MasterUser"))
            {
                var authenticationContext = new AuthenticationContext(AuthorityUrl);

// Authentication using master user credentials
                var credential = new UserPasswordCredential(Username, Password);
                authenticationResult = authenticationContext.AcquireTokenAsync(ResourceUrl, ApplicationId, credential).Result;
            }

return authenticationResult;
        }

Please help me solve this. Thanks in advance.

• Moved by CoolDadTx Monday, March 25, 2019 2:46 PM Not a C# question
    Thursday, March 21, 2019 8:01 PM

All replies

• Hi Meenakshi2019,

Thank you for posting here.

Since your question is more related to Power BI, you could post a new thread in the link below.

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Developer/bd-p/Developer