WHS not visible in My Network Places RRS feed

• Question

• I have WHS working fine - 3 destops/laptops.  All are visible through WHS Console and all are working with 2-way communication, backups, remote access, etc. 

However, from a client machine, the annoying issue is I can't see the server in My Network Places > Entire Network > Microsoft Windows Network. The only thing nested there is my home office network (and the server is not visible under that).  Perhaps related (?) is the (again, client) Computer Name is listed as a member of my home office network Workgroup (which is not the default Microsoft name). 

So, I can't browse to the shared folders on the server without manually typing in \\<servername>    (When I do that, I can access all shared drives)

I'm a newbie to home server world, but this doesn't seem right. 

Suggestions?

Monday, February 25, 2008 12:43 AM

Answers

• Solved!

I did 2 changes posted here, so not sure which fixed it.  First, I did have a laptop with a hyphen in the name, so I changed that.  During the reboot, I also reset the router, powered down, let WHS reconfigure (presumably just the UPnP), and after booting up the rest of the PCs all 3 PCs and the server are present on my home network.

To summarize:

1. changed workgroup name on the WHS system to match my home office network workgroup name
    2. changed computer name on a laptop that had a hyphen
    3. reset router, rebooted cablemodem, vogage box, routher, server, an all 3 PCs.

THANKS!

Monday, February 25, 2008 10:00 PM

All replies

• You can change the Workgroup name by using Remote Desktop Connection to enter your home server, then clicking on | Start (menu) | Control Panel | System | Computer Name | Change (button) | under workgroup type in the new name. Click | OK | OK | OK | note that you'll need to reboot your computer for the changes to take effect.

What OS are the PCs running?

Thanks

Monday, February 25, 2008 1:05 AM