none
SyncToy 2.1 x64 Error Messages RRS feed

• Question

• I have a laptop running Vista x64.

I acquired a 2 Tb Western Digital Worldbook for backing up files from laptop and other computers. I have been using the WD Worlsbook for a couple of months and have been syncing / backing up laptop to Worldbook via manual "Drag and Drop" of directories and files. Its a manual process but it works.

I wanted to automate my sync / backup process and recently downloaded SyncToy 2.1 x64 and installed with no problems.

I did several small sync(s) (5 - 10 Gb) with no problems.

I then attempted to sync my laptop music collection with the backup collection on the Worldbook. I set up to pairing like I did with all other Syncs I performed and hit "RUN". SyncToy ran just as it always has and then hangs up with the follwing error messages:

Exception during run: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.

Exception during run: The FileSyncProvider received an unexpected error while writing a change. Updating file *\*\*\  

What are these error messages? What can I do to fix these error messages?

Any ideas?

Monday, March 1, 2010 10:02 PM

All replies

• I have seen an issue with synctoy where it will fail if either file system is FAT. Are your source and destination disks both NTFS? 
    Saturday, May 8, 2010 7:19 PM
  • I have seen an issue with synctoy where it will fail if either file system is FAT. Are your source and destination disks both NTFS?

Who can give an answer? Thanks very much!
    Saturday, January 15, 2011 12:58 AM
  • Can you copy the complete error details from the sync log.  This can be found by opening SyncToy, going to the File menu and click on SyncToy Log.

Maria del Mar Alvarez Rohena Software Engineer in Test II Microsoft Synchronization Framework
    Saturday, February 5, 2011 1:24 AM
  • SYNC: 08/09/2011 14:06:39:808: Started scanning directory : F:\My Music\