none
using Sync framework to synchronize RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to Sync Framework. It was so attractive on seeing the features provided by Microsoft Sync Framework. This is the perfect match for my new application requirements. But i have few questions which is still unclear to me.

Requirement: Need to synchronize the local db with SQL 2000.

1. I tried out sample applications. In abcd.sync file, Configure Datasource Synchronization, when connecting to server, it asks for the server connection & client connection. The server am able to choose it. But for the client is that mandatory to use only Sql Server compact edition? Or shall i use SQL 2000 or SQL 2005 as client db. If yes, then how to do this. Because am not able to choose other than SQL Server Compact edition.

2. If i have SQL 2008 in Client is that possible to synchronize the local data with SQL 2000 db.

Note: Its not possible to migrate my existing SQL 2000 server to sql 2005 or SQL 2008. So i have to live with SQL 2000 in server.

Pls provide your inputs/suggestions to proceed with.

Regards

Sasi

Tuesday, November 9, 2010 11:13 AM

All replies

• 1.  The Visual Studio Local Database Cache project item only works with SQL Server as the server and SQL Ce as the client. This wizard also uses the offline providers and there is no out-of-the-box client provider other than SQL Ce. there is a sample client provider for Sql Express though.

2. afaik, the minimum SQL supported is SQL Server 2005 SP2 because of the way the anchors/timestamps are retrieved.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010 3:59 PM
  • Thanks for your reply.

so its possible only to choose SQLCE as the client.

For the 2nd point, minimum supported version mentioned is SQL Server 2005 SP2 on the server.  Can you pls cofirm,

1. Minimum supported version in Client -

2. Minimum Supported version in Server -

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 10:32 AM
  • just check the documentation, to quote: