locked
Project Workspace Permissions RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi all

    Whenever we publish projects from the Project Pro 2007 application into our Project Server 2007 instance a Project Workspace is created.  The permissions set on the Project Workspace are set by project server based on the members of the Project Managers group.  Nothing out of the ordinary, this is standard Project Server stuff.

    However, very occasionally (we've had 6 of these in the last 200 projects) a Project Workspace is created but the permissions do not seem to "flow" down from Project Server.  The only accounts that have permissions on the Workspace are account that SharePoint/Project Server runs under and the service account for the Shared Services Provider.

    I can't find any commonalities between the projects that have this problem so I'm struggling to come to a solution.  At the moment, I'm looking for workarounds.  I need to find a way to have the troublesome Project Workspaces "relinked" so that their permissions are once again based on the Project Server permissions and are changed by Project Server when we add new users.

    Dave

    Tuesday, July 27, 2010 10:57 AM

Answers

  • Hi Dave,

    Sometimes things go wrong, and the only trace you'll see will be in the ULS logs and in the Q jobs (but then failed jobs are deleted after 24 hours by default (IMHO you should up that setting to 7-14 days).  The easiest way to re-sync the permissions is to go into server settings | project workspaces , select the relevant workspace and hit the sync button at the top.


    Ben Howard [MVP] http://appleparkltd.spaces.live.com/
    Tuesday, July 27, 2010 1:58 PM

All replies

  • Dave,

    We have seen a similar issue few weeks back with some of our projects. In our case, because of the space issues on the SQL Server, some of the updates did not install correctly. Once we fixed the space issue, and reinstalled the updates, everything started working fine.

    Please follow this link to see if it helps: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841216

    Tuesday, July 27, 2010 12:46 PM
  • Hi Dave,

    Sometimes things go wrong, and the only trace you'll see will be in the ULS logs and in the Q jobs (but then failed jobs are deleted after 24 hours by default (IMHO you should up that setting to 7-14 days).  The easiest way to re-sync the permissions is to go into server settings | project workspaces , select the relevant workspace and hit the sync button at the top.


    Ben Howard [MVP] http://appleparkltd.spaces.live.com/
    Tuesday, July 27, 2010 1:58 PM
  • Hi Ben 

    Forgive me if I'm wrong, but were you teaching the online MS EPMU courses a year or two ago?  I'm pretty sure it was yourself who took the 5 day admin course I did a little while back. 

    Anyway, sychronising the workspace permissions from within the server settings worked, so thanks very much for the advice!  I've up'd the settings for unsucessful jobs to 14 days in case we get this happening again.

    Dave

    Tuesday, July 27, 2010 5:10 PM
  • Hi Dave,

    Yes, it's likely it was me :)   Glad you're up and running (albeit with a few hitches) with Project Server.


    Ben Howard [MVP] http://appleparkltd.spaces.live.com/
    Wednesday, July 28, 2010 9:14 AM