Vista Validation Error and more!! RRS feed

• Question

• I recieved Vista RC1 Build 5600 and Product Key from Microsoft.  I recently installed a clean copy less than a week ago.  It is my first time using the Vista Product Key.  I validated right from the start and it was successful.  Vista, it's Aero Style and Windows Update worked for the first two boot ups, but now I recieve an Aero error everytime that I start up the machine and when I run a program (mostly games).  I have also recieved Windows Update Errors.  Both errors state that I do not have a validated version of Genuine Windows.  I now recently noticed that at the bottom right hand of my screen that it says that "This Copy of Windows is not genuine".  The only 3rd part programs I have installed have been The Sims 2 (DVD Edition), Age of Mythology and Titans Expansion, and Guild Wars: Factions.  I never installed an  Anti-Virus, until after I started recieving the Validation Errors.  I now have the Microsoft Recommended for Vista "Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security 14 beta".  Now I always recieve a Windows Security Alert stating that the Anti Virus is out of date... I scan for updates, but it's up to date.  I have also tried to send feedback using the shortcut on my desktop, but it always fails.  Even when I try to validate Vista online I recieve an Error?  Please someone help!?

*Note:  I have read other threads and suggestions, and so far nothing has worked.

Sunday, October 15, 2006 9:54 PM

Answers

• Bckchrry08

Let us know if you have any other issues.

Monday, October 23, 2006 8:10 PM

All replies

• Whats the error message you see when validating at www.microsoft.com/genuine for Vista? Does the issue occur without your 3rd party anti-virus installed?

(You can click Validate Windows, it'll autodetect Vista)

-phil

Monday, October 16, 2006 6:34 AM
  • The Error states:

Unknown error encountered during Windows Vista validation.