none
MCTS 70-516 Exam Help RRS feed

• Question

• I recently started the journey to my very first Microsoft certification: MCTS 70-516, Accessing Data with Microsoft.NET Framework 4.  So I enrolled in a boot camp: Microsoft's 10265A, provided by NetCom Learning.  So I studied all of the materials provided and took practice tests through MeasureUp.com.  My first attempt was a failure.  I got a 676.  So I looked at the metrics provided on the scoring report, rescheduled my test, and buckled down.  Maybe I just needed to study more.  *shrug*  So I read the materials provided cover to cover and reviewed all of the labs, paid for and downloaded Kaplan's practice tests, and started reading tutorials and any supplemental material I could find on MSDN and Microsoft's blogs.  I was doing really well on the practice tests (consistently passing) and felt I had a pretty good understanding of the material.  I felt ready.  Moreso than when I took the test the first time.

So I did my retake today... and failed.  Again.  This time I got a 626, but all of my metrics on the score report are significantly higher than they were on the first try-- well above the mid-range.  Maybe I'm still stinging from my second failed attempt, but I think the weighted scoring is crap.  How can I improve so much in terms of the metrics, but score so much lower?  How can this be an accurate representation of progress or proficiency? Is this just luck of the draw?  How can I not be studying hard enough when I'm studying 4 hours every day for the past 3 weeks?  And studying Microsoft's course material and suggested supplemental materials.

What else can I do to help myself pass this test?  I'm at a complete loss on how I can study any better or any harder.  I'm clearly retaining the information, but it doesn't seem to be the right information.  Any advice would be appreciated.

Thursday, March 24, 2011 8:08 PM

Answers

• Hi,