Question regarding Results Summary for exams RRS feed

• Question

• Hello to all - total n00b so please be gentle!

This may be a dumb question, possibly prompted by my bruised ego, but here goes...

I recently sat the 70-291 exam (Implement, Manage & Maintain a MS W2K3 Network Infrastructure) and, to my annoyance, failed. The fail I can deal with, however when I got my results summary sheet after the exam, I noticed that one section (Routing & Remote Access) had nothing whatsoever in the bar that goes from "Moron" to "Genius" (or whatever the phrasing of it is)

I've asked some of my work chums and nobody seems to have ever come across one of these bars being totally blank before. Added to that I've been working with VPN/IPSec for the past 2 years with no real bother.

So my question is basically "Is this a fault with the test centre's marking, or am I really that dumb??" And if the answer is the former, can I appeal/have the result overturned?

Cheers for any help/constructive abuse!

Scrote
    Wednesday, August 6, 2008 2:10 PM

Answers

• Scrote, sorry fellow.  The way the scoring sheet works is that each section has a relative bar depending on the weighting of the exam questions in one area.  Depending on how that particular objective on the exam is weighted, missing only a couple questions in that area may be enough to cause the bar to be blank!

Appealing your exam may be possible however I have never heard of it being done before because the entire scoring system is automated based on the experience of thousands of exam takers for each exam.  The odds of your answers, which are scored incorrect, being correct while the 5,000 other people who have taken the same exam before you having chosen the "correct" answer to pass the exam as intended are miniscule at best.

Sometimes the question or the answer sets require careful reading and go somewhat against your experience.