How do I get my files off of .dat files? RRS feed

• Question

• I have had a WHS since 2007, an original HP MediaSmart server, and it served me well until very recently.  I went away on a trip for a month and when I came back my server wouldn't start up.  I could turn it on, but ultimately the health light would blink red/blue intermittently for about 30 seconds and then it just blinked blue (no red) ad nausea.  I'm not technical, but what I could understand from the many forums I read was that it was a likely check disk and/or disk corruption error.  The one solution they offered that wasn't too technical to try to remove disks one by one and try restarting.  I did, but unfortunately I got the same result each time.

So I took my server hard drives to staples, and they harvested all the data from the WHS hard drives to a separate external HD.  The good part of this is that I now can access all of the files I had put in the separate server folders - photos, videos, important docs, etc.  But all of the files and information that were located in my computer backups now appear as .dat files and I have no clue of how to get to them.  Is there any way to do this that a non-technical person might be able to do?  I'm fine at following step-by-step instructions even if they're complicated, but they'd need to be really well drawn out.  I still have the original server and hard drives....is there a solution that I can reboot up that system and get to the files like I used to?

Thanks all so much for your help!  I feel entirely at lost with this and there are a lot of important files (pictures and tax documents, mostly) that were only located on my computer backups, and I need a way to get to them.

Monday, February 11, 2013 11:42 PM

All replies