Question about Certfication regarding Windows Server 2008 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I do not have any IT certification and am trying to make a career change into the field. I have some basic knowledge I learned on my own. But very basic. If I wanted to study Server 2008- would exam number 70642 be the best first exam to take?

Again, I am interested in learning Server 2008 and would like to know what the first test would be for this, so that I will know what to study etc... I am finding the certification info very confusing. thanks!

Thanks

Boris

Monday, February 14, 2011 11:17 PM

Answers

• If you are completely new to IT certification, you may find it easier to start with one of the client operating system examinations, such as 70-680. If your experience is limited, you will find that this exam is easier to tackle, and it will later count towards your MCITP:Enterprise administrator certification if you choose to pursue it.

70-642 is also a good choice, and it will give you an MCTS on Network infrastructure. But if you only have very basic knowledge, you will need to spend some time doing some serious studying, since the exam does require quite a bit of knowledge. See the "Skills Measured" page for this exam here:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/exam.aspx?ID=70-642&locale=en-us#tab2

• Marked as answer by Rubel Khan Friday, March 4, 2011 3:39 PM
    Tuesday, February 15, 2011 8:43 AM
  • Start with the CompTIA basic courses - A+, Net+, maybe even Server+ before you consider going to anything like the Microsoft certification courses.
    Tuesday, February 15, 2011 5:55 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• If you are completely new to IT certification, you may find it easier to start with one of the client operating system examinations, such as 70-680. If your experience is limited, you will find that this exam is easier to tackle, and it will later count towards your MCITP:Enterprise administrator certification if you choose to pursue it.