CRM Custom Forms Online/Offline RRS feed

• Question

• Please bear with me, I am fairly new to CRM. I am trying to figure out if a particular scenario is doable, and if so, would appreciate some direction on the best approach.

First, the requirement is to have an opportunities form that allows inputting multiple rows at once, saving all at once. This is primarily a UI change, as underlying business logic for opportunities remains, for the most part, the same. The users want to replicate how they would interact with Excel, as opposed to doing a single row at time update/insert. There are the main opportunity data entities, and some custom fields that we are capturing.

Currently, a page is called via an iframe, calling a page in a separate application that uses the web service api's in CRM to insert/update data. For tighter integration, and offline use, it would be preferable to have this as part of CRM.

So, for some basic questions:
      - if I want to re-create basically a custom form, using whatever UI pieces I need (possibly Telerik components, but not necessary), doing calls to the api's, would I create a plugin, and how doable is this?
      - will this then tranlate easily to offline use?

The reason for asking is that the documentation is not clear (to me) as to how you might use the plug-in architecture in more of a forms centric way, as opposed to creating discrete business logic components that would be used with built in form. Is the approach is similar to .net web server controls that produce UI output as opposed to working directly with user controls and aspx pages?

The goal is to leverage the built in capability for offline data changes, syncronization, etc., and all that this entails, as opposed to getting in to doing this separately.

Regards,

Paul

Thursday, January 7, 2010 3:29 PM

Answers

• Well, I think I figured out how this approach would best work. A quote from a website (can't remember which):

ISV folder