Enterprise Edition Pool Deployment RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am new to OCS technology and wanted some clarification with regards to supported pool topology.

Would the following be supported?

We have 2 geographic sites - London and Sheffield with an equal number of staff split across them.
    We run a single AD domain and there is a 100MBit link between the sites.

Planning to run IM and App sharing - video may coming in 2 years time.

So with that in mind can you have -

1) 2 OCS2007 Enterprise servers (1 on each site) sitting in their own Pools without a Hardware Load Balancer

2) With both connected to separate SQL databases or 2 instances on 1 SQL box.

Let me know if you need more info.

Thanks

Tuesday, September 18, 2007 12:39 PM

Answers

• Hi Mike

As you mentioned I think we will just go for 1 EE OCS box with a SQL cluster on one site as Microsoft supportability is important to our organisation.  Also in a DR situation I think this will be a far easier option then moving users, databases and amending DNS records etc.

Thanks for all your help and advice.

Dhiren

Thursday, September 20, 2007 10:48 AM

All replies

• Everything is supported unless you put SQL in a separate location (you mentioned running both on the same SQL server).  Assuming that your connection has low latency there would be no technical problem, but this scenario hasn't made it into Microsoft's testing matrix yet.  As a result you'll need to have a local SQL server for both pools.

One thing to keep in mind is that you'll have to point your internal SRV record to one server or the other.  If you are confident about your connection then this won't be a problem, but if you lose connectivity between the sites then one of them won't be able to login without some manual intervention.

Tuesday, September 18, 2007 2:08 PM
  • Thanks Mike