none
SyncToy 2.1 overwrote newer files RRS feed

  • Question

  • A client called me in a panic.  He made some changes to his Quickbooks file on the desktop.  Later that night, the scheduled task ran from the laptop and synced his "my documents" folder, overwriting the QuickBooks file with an older version. 

    SyncToy is installed on the laptop.  The file pushed to the desktop was 2 months old. 

    Any suggestions?  I tried recovering the file, but its gone. 

    Tuesday, May 11, 2010 7:25 PM

All replies

  • Hi dmissp,

    Follow these steps:

    After creating a folder pair, you can see the "Change options..." on the main page of SyncToy. Click this link button, you can see a check box bellow with the description of "Save overwrtten files in the Recycle Bin". If you click this check box before syncing this folder pair, the overwritten files will be thrown in the Recycle Bin. So, in this situation you state, if you can make sure you have clicked this check box before nightly syncing, you can get the "old files" in the Recycle Bin.

     

    Thanks,

    Danish

    Wednesday, May 12, 2010 8:34 AM