none
Help with Post-Install issues? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I am a WHS newbie and anxious to dive in.  I have a fair amount of experience with SBS (Small Business Server 2003) and I suspect WHS is similar in that there are some "rules" to follow.  So before I really dive in I wanted to solicit some advice.  I have a homebrew system and am at the stage where WHS is installed, all of the Updates done including Power Pack 3.  Other than that I have not touched it, no Connectors installed etc.

My question concerns drivers: I noticed by browsing Device Manager that hardware such as the NIC and the Display Adapter appear to be using standard Microsoft drivers circa 2002.  So how far to I go in doing standard driver updates?  OK for example to download from the manufacturer Web site; i.e. the latest NIC drivers from INTEL, the latest video drivers from nVidia, etc etc.  Again, making an assumption this is OK in the WHS world as long as they are correct drivers for Server 2003?  Finally, just wanted to make sure this process is OK to do while directly interacting with the Server OS?

Thank you in advance and I look forward to participating here!

Mike

Tuesday, May 4, 2010 2:12 PM

All replies

• Hi Mike,

Why update the drivers if they are working fine for you :-)  The display adapter is not really important as you should only really use Window Home Server from the a connected client through the Windows Home Server Console.  As for the Network Card I'd say if you have a decent on board NIC then the current driver is probably fine as is.

Cheers,

Al

--
    Tuesday, May 4, 2010 3:24 PM
  • I have gone in and installed AV and such on my WHS, as well as drivers for printers etc with no issues at all.

Just dont 'mess' with anything that you dont need to would be my advice.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010 7:40 AM