Is it possible to bulk configure 1000 users at once in OCS? RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi, I couldn't find the answer to this after a bit of searching. After creating a 1000 users in active directory and exporting them to OCS there's a problem that the users aren't configured correctly in OCS. For each user it's necessary to Enable remote call control and fill in a number of other fields.

Is there a way to do this so a human doesn't have do all 1000 by hand? As that human, please save me :-)

thanx

Friday, October 17, 2008 9:23 PM

All replies

• There are a few wsf scripts in the resource kit that can be used for bulk administration.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=b9bf4f71-fb0b-4de9-962f-c56b70a8aecd&displaylang=en

Friday, October 17, 2008 9:58 PM
  • Excellent. Thanks. I think that will work. However when I try moveusers.wsf it pops me into a debugger with an exeception in write msg. I've never used wsf before. Is there anything special that needs to happen for it to work?
    Friday, October 17, 2008 10:08 PM
  • You need to put cscript in front of it, try running this from a command line, using your own path to the script:

cscript "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office Communications Server 2007\ResKit\moveusers.wsf"

Friday, October 17, 2008 10:18 PM
  • This may help as well; you can modify the raw attributes to get the same results:

http://blogs.pointbridge.com/Blogs/schertz_jeff/Pages/Post.aspx?_ID=29

Monday, October 20, 2008 1:13 AM
  • Thanks for this and the following post. This really helps.
    Monday, October 20, 2008 5:16 PM
  • How do you guys learn all this stuff? A lot to learn. I think I'm still before crawling.

Is there anything that describes how moveusers.wsf is supposed to work? I run it and it asks me for a user@domain. I give one.

Then it presents:

1- x.y.company.com

I have no idea what to put here. So I just put 1 since it seems to want an int.
    Then in the directory I see files like results00001.passed