CRM 2013, C# PlugIn - How To Get Value of A Lookup Field RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

The title basically says it all

I have a lookup field called "businessowningtype" and I want to get the value that is displayed in the field

Thanks, Shaun

S.Harrison

Monday, June 9, 2014 8:11 AM

Answers

• Hi

Thanks for your reply

I'm quite new to all of this so please bare with me

My code at the moment stands as follows;

owningUnit = ((Microsoft.Xrm.Sdk.EntityReference)(owningUnitImage.Attributes["owningbusinessunit"])).ToString();

I used a InvalidPluginExecutionExeption message to show what is getting returned, but all I'm getting is Microsoft.Xrm.Sdk.EntityReference

Thanks, Shaun

S.Harrison

Hi,
    if your field is a lookup from C# you will get always an EntityReference, after you need to use this entityreference to retrieve the actual entity, something like:

var owningUnit = (Microsoft.Xrm.Sdk.EntityReference)(owningUnitImage.Attributes["owningbusinessunit"];
    var actualOwningUnit = service.Retrieve(owningUnit.LogicalName, owningUnit.Id, new ColumnSet(true));
    var nameField = actualOwningUnit["name"].ToString();
    where service is your IOrganizationService variable.

My blog: www.crmanswers.net - Rockstar 365 Profile

Monday, June 9, 2014 8:41 AM
  • You need to use currencyname

var currencyName = actualCurrency["currencyname"].ToString();

Tuesday, June 10, 2014 2:22 PM

All replies

• You can have the GUID associated with that field, when you retrive data in plugin.

Still having issue please give more details on issue you are facing with some trace/code anything.

Jiten Patoliya Windows C# developer

Monday, June 9, 2014 8:15 AM
  • Hi

Thanks for your reply

owningUnit = ((Microsoft.Xrm.Sdk.EntityReference)(owningUnitImage.Attributes["owningbusinessunit"])).ToString();

I used a InvalidPluginExecutionExeption message to show what is getting returned, but all I'm getting is Microsoft.Xrm.Sdk.EntityReference

Thanks, Shaun

S.Harrison