disaster w/ recover installation - will not reboot RRS feed

• Question

• I'm having a sticky problem that requires a history of my installation...   My current problem is this:

I am trying to do a "recover" install (I hosed my WHS installation - DO NOT try to set share permissions from anywhere beside the console, I did this in an attempt to get my XBOX Media Extender to see WHS and "broke" it!)...

When I insert the DVD, it will boot from it and go through the recover install process.   Upon first reboot it will not continue, but goes right back to the very first installation step (booting from the DVD, rather than the primary master that was supposedly just prepared by the DVD installation program).  It's as if it is trying to install WHS on a different HD than it's supposed to (I have a 40GB set to Primary Master) and I cannot get it to do the recovery.  I'm stuck in an installation loop.

Upon first installing WHS, I only had the 40GB drive in there (I wanted to be sure it would install before committing my other HD's to it).    After successful install (although dealing with a VERY finicky installation DVD) I put my other HD's into the machine (including a PCI ATA card) and started transferring my data to it.

So, I tried, in an effort to get my XBOX to see WHS through my Media Center PC (a problem which I've since discovered the solution to), I tried to manually set the permissions of a shared folder directly from the terminal.  BAD IDEA.  The thing froze, and wouldn't boot ever again (would get stuck after the CTRL-ALT-DELETE) screen even if left overnight.    I tried everything I could think of to get even one time access to my data drives, but to no avail.